Skip to content

Edible October…and promises of more to come

October 24, 2011

I can’t remember exactly what got the day going in the wrong direction, but October 1st was not a happy day in our household.  I was grumpy, Jacob was fussy, Joshua was trying to figure out what was going on with everybody…I think it had something to do with another night of interrupted sleep followed by a napless day, but whatever it was, we felt like we were sinking.  Fast.

And then.  Then!  The phone rang and caller I.D. identified our favourite neighbourhood market, the East End Co-Op, where we do nearly all of our shopping.  Low and behold, Jacob had won a hand-sewn, fair trade soccer ball.  Joshua had entered his name in the drawing weeks before, and as it turns out, we have a lucky kid.  And one who had just learned how to say “ball”–the object of his utmost affection.  Things were looking up.

And then.  Then!  When we arrived at the Co-Op to pick up the ball I saw from outside a magazine rack brimming with the latest issue of Edible Vancouver, a magazine I have read and savoured my six years here in B.C., and one to which I can now proudly say I have contributed.  The day rapidly turned on its head as I scooped up five copies of the magazine and stifled my whoop of joy.  Jacob’s ball…my article…October 1st made a decisive turn for the good.

Now, three weeks later, there are pumpkins and festive winter squash lining my windowsill, there is freshly baked soft sandwich sourdough on my kitchen counter, and there are hopes in my heart to provide you with a recipe for spaghetti squash and meatballs later this week.  I’ll do my best.  We have an enormous spaghetti squash taking up way too much counter space, compliments of our A Rocha farm share, and I keep thinking about this recipe my mom used to make in the fall and winter months.  I’ll tell you all about it soon.  In the meantime, I hope you can find time to read the latest Edible Vancouver–the whole issue is wonderful.  And, as you will learn from my own little article, if you live in East Vancouver–or anywhere in Vancouver–and have not yet visited East Village Bakery, you should do so.  I should do so, [happy sigh] yet again.

Happy Harvest!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty Chestnut permalink
    October 24, 2011 2:25 pm

    YEAH the article has finally appeared!! I can’t wait to read it.

    Love you lots Patty

  2. Nickaela permalink
    October 24, 2011 4:09 pm

    WELL DONE!!!

  3. Audrey Chestnut permalink
    October 25, 2011 3:18 am

    YEAH!!! I’m so excited for you! Wish we could pick up a copy too…don’t know if you can scan it or something, but I’d love to be able to read it. Much love and I’m so excited for you!

    • October 25, 2011 7:59 am

      Thanks, Aud! You can actually read it online off the Edible Vancouver website–I link to it in my post. Just click on “View the latest digital edition” in the left side bar. Love to you and Rob–Sarah

  4. October 25, 2011 2:50 pm

    well done! (ha, food writer’s pun) that’s so exciting!

  5. October 25, 2011 4:58 pm

    I just read it – so good, Sarah! And… now I have to move back to Vancouver.

  6. October 30, 2011 6:44 pm

    Happened to pick a copy today and first page I flip to I immediately notice two things… first, CHALLAH! Second, that this must be the Sarah Crowley from the Food Course, of the cinnamon swirl bread that I still dream about. Thanks for a new dose of daily bread. 🙂

Leave a Reply

