Skip to content

Changes, changes…

July 23, 2012

Needless to say, it’s been a while.  Why, you may ask?  Well, I no longer look out my window to the gray-green world of Vancouver, British Columbia.  I open a door onto a battered old deck facing what may pass for a small orchard.

In June we moved back to my hometown of Mariposa, California, a small Sierra town and gateway to Yosemite National Park.  We are slowly adjusting to…everything.  The heat, the driving, the sounds at night.  Living with family (my parents), in my grandparent’s old house.  Looking for work.  Looking to work structure into our structureless days…

In addition to the physical move, I have made a virtual move.  Thank you for following my exploration of Italian cooking, and cooking and baking generally.  I invite you to now follow me at The Seasoned Table, a new blog that I am collaborating on with two other women.  At The Seasoned Table we plan to explore home economics–in the fullest sense–not only according to the seasons of the earth, but also the seasons of church year.  It is a blog about feast and fast, high season and low, the extraordinary and the mundane…the extraordinary mundane and the extraordinarily mundane.  In this effort we join the many who are rediscovering ancient ways of work and prayer, and who are seeking to cultivate a spirituality characterized by attentiveness and gratitude.  We are newcomers to both scenes–contemporary and ancient–and we hope that this new blog will be one little way of connecting with others who are walking this path, or are seeking a path to walk.  Most recently, I wrote about our move, transplant shock, apricots and eggplant.

I hope this little word from California finds you well, wherever you are.  Outside my window there are very light clouds on the horizon, and there are tall bull pines, and hazelnut trees (which we only recently identified as such), and it is already very, very warm.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. julie gentino permalink
    July 26, 2012 5:37 pm

    i will follow you to the ends of the blog-earth, sarah!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

